UK Government announces new enterprise zones

The location of eleven new Enterprise Zones, designed to boost local growth and create over 30,000 new jobs by 2015, have recently been announced by the Prime Minister, David Cameron, the Chancellor of the Exchequer, George Osborne, and the Communities Secretary, Eric Pickles.

The second wave of Enterprise Zones will be located in:

  • Humber Estuary Renewable Energy Super Cluster.
  • Daresbury Science Campus near Runcorn and Warrington.
  • Newquay AeroHub in Cornwall.
  • The Solent Enterprise Zone at Daedalus Airfield in Gosport.
  • MIRA Technology Park in Hinckley Leicestershire.
  • Rotherwas Enterprise Zone in Hereford.
  • Discovery Park in Sandwich,Kent and Enterprise West Essex in Harlow;
  • Science Vale UK in Oxfordshire.
  • Northampton Waterside.
  • Alconbury Airfield, near Huntingdon in Cambridgeshire.
  • Great Yarmouth in Norfolk, and Lowestoft in Suffolk.

Business Secretary, Vince Cable, said:

Across England, these Zones will generate new jobs, investment in areas that can benefit, and develop high-tech products that will secure long-term sustainable prosperity.”

The Government has also announced a major package of incentives for Discovery Park, Sandwich as part of the new Enterprise Zones – The Enterprise Zone for Discovery Park will encourage new start up businesses and other investors with simplified planning rules and millions of pounds in tax breaks to promote growth.

This package could support up to 2,600 jobs and 190 businesses.

Philip Henson, Bargate Murray –


Leave a comment

Filed under Ch ch ch changes

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s